Guess who’s gainfully employed!

Congratulations are in order to myself! I mentioned in my last lesson report that I had a job interview, and I’m very happy to announce that I got it!

I work a variety of on-call jobs – professional movie extra, private bartender, babysitter; basically whatever I can do to make money – but it’s been a while since I’ve had a regular job. (I have very minimal bills – just gas, student loans, and very small rent – so I don’t need to work full time and this arrangement was better for my mental health.) And it’s a horsey one! I’m now working part-time at a local hunter/jumper farm. Once again, I am a professional stall mucker, aisle sweeper, and water bucket dumper. And I’m pretty excited about it! It’s a beautiful property and the owner/trainers take wonderful care of their horses. I chatted a lot with the people who are currently working at this barn before I committed and the consensus was that it’s a great working environment (which is so hard to find when you’re a barn hand – you’re either under the table, never get paid on time, working 18 hours a day without a lunch break, or all of the above). So far that’s definitely been the trend I’ve seen (even if stacking hay is not my idea of a fun first day!). The clients I’ve met so far were also very kind and welcoming.

I probably won’t be talking too much about work on the blog, just to protect the privacy of the people involved, but you can probably expect the occasional non-specific post about whatever’s happened that day/week! Suffice it to say I’m very happy to have a steady job again – I like what I do, but it’s not anything that’s my life’s ambition. I don’t think I’ll ever want to be a professional rider, but I’m really passionate about the barn management and grooming side of horse care, and I’m getting a lot of opportunities for that here, including some trips to work at A/AA shows. Plus, the horses are all very, very nice – including at least one six-figure hunter (who is a total sweetheart).

So far, work has mostly involved a lot of sore muscles – but it’s nothing a little liniment won’t fix! I’m very excited about this development and I’m definitely excited about the money it’s going to bring in. Here’s to more regular riding lessons!

6 thoughts on “Guess who’s gainfully employed!

  1. Congratulations!!! It’s such hard work but there’s nothing better. I used to work at the barn every day after school and wish I could do it again! Hope you have an awesome time with the ponies 🙂

    Like

Join the Conversation

