In Defense of Tradition

I was going to make a serious rebuttal post to Kelsey’s, but she already knows that I am a diehard traditionalist 90% of the time, so I will leave you with these points:

  • My hunt cap is amazing and I love it. My hunt cap-style helmet is also amazing and keeps me from dying.
  • Rust breeches match my hair and are gorgeous!
  • Being able to tie a stock tie is a lowkey superpower.
  • Hunters could stand to be little more traditional if you ask me; I’m not a super huge fan of our modern hunters.
  • SIDESADDLE IS AMAZING HAVE YOU SEEN THOSE LADIES JUMPING AND SHIT THEY ARE SO BADASS!
  • I like my ratcatchers! I can monogram the collars! Or use a pretty gold pin!
  • The auto release is the most useful thing you will ever learn in your entire jumping career, or close to it.

In all seriousness, though, for me, tradition is a way to show respect. To me, it says, “I’m aware of the history of my sport and the people who have gotten us to where we are today.” I’m all for making things safer and more comfortable and cheaper, but that doesn’t mean everything has to change. Progress I’m all for. But change? Change isn’t always better.

2 thoughts on “In Defense of Tradition

Join the Conversation

