Update on Surgery

Please excuse any spelling or grammatical errors or inevitable randomness because I am SUPER LOOPY ON PAIN DRUGS.

Surgery went textbook. I am at home recovering well. Who wants to see surgery pictures??? (For those that don’t, rest assured. I’ll put them under a read more.)

My doctor was kind enough to take pictures before and during surgery for me. He’s pretty much the coolest. My nurse was also super cool, and attractive. Rest easy, readers. I was in great hands.

Post surgery went well. I woke up and was confused, but I only stayed at the hospital for like two hours after I woke up. The anesthetic made me super nauseated but I still wanted food? Go figure. Hah. I slept like a freaking champ.

Also, MAJOR SHOUT OUT TO THE WORLD’S MOST UNDERSTANDING AND PATIENT MOTHER. She’s been at my beck and call since the actual fall (as soon as she answered the Florida phone number, lol). If you haven’t yet today, go tell your mother how awesome she is. Mothers really don’t hear that enough. And you should all be jealous because my mother is the best. She picked me up off the floor when, in a drugged stupor, I thought I could stand on my right leg. Whoops. Don’t try that again. She then helped me hobble on my crutches to the bathroom so I could pee and wash my face and brush my teeth.

My real disappointment is that I don’t have a cast, because my wonderful trainer Megan offered to paint my cast. Trying to figure out if she can paint my splint… If not, I’ll just have her design my next tattoo. ^_^

So for the next few weeks, all the riding updates will come from the lovely Amanda. And I’ll just be miscellaneous blogging. I’ll still be going to the barn once I’m feeling better. Nothing’s gonna keep me away from Audio. ❤

Safe Pictures!

My orthopedist

My orthopedist

My nurse, John

My nurse, John

My anesthestiologist

My anesthestiologist

Do surgery on THIS ankle, not the other one.

Do surgery on THIS ankle, not the other one.

Pre-op

Pre-op

In the OR (I am exceedingly drugged at this point with pain killers and nerve blocks, and about two minutes later, they started the anesthetic.)

In the OR (I am exceedingly drugged at this point with pain killers and nerve blocks, and about two minutes later, they started the anesthetic.)

All wrapped up post-op.

All wrapped up post-op.

Gory Surgery Pictures!

Here, you can actually see one of the fractures.

Here, you can actually see one of the fractures.

Ew, gross

Ew, gross

I am bionic woman

I am bionic woman

My plate, rod, and pins

My plate, rod, and pins

I'm totally keeping the hardware. Don't judge me.

I’m totally keeping the hardware. Don’t judge me.

Staples!

Staples!

I'm totally doing a tattoo around this scar.

I’m totally doing a tattoo around this scar.

4 thoughts on “Update on Surgery

Join the Conversation

