An Update on My Life

So I said I had big news, and I can now announce it! It’s actually a lot of news. I’m quite excited to tell y’all! Cue the drumroll.

giphy

In which this drumroll is my attempt at life most days

Remember how I have posted maybe like one actual riding update lately? Yeah… That broke college life ain’t for me. Utilities add up. Commuting adds up. Feeding myself, poorly for that matter, adds up. In addition to my severe lack of money, my health is not quite where it should be. Plus, I’ve got grad school on the horizon.

Starting after finals in May, I’ll be back up in Atlanta to finish my bachelor’s (mostly) online. Summer classes will be exclusively online, as well as my final semester. I’ll be taking one transient semester as well at a nearby state university, where a couple of my friends go. Instead of diverting some of my college savings to rent, all of it can be dedicated to tuition.

Don’t get me wrong. I love Statesboro. It’s so pretty. But it is lacking in the medical care I need to survive. Not to mention, for a cheap city, it is expensive to live there. It’ll be hard to adjust to living back under Mom and Dad’s roof again, but I’ve done it before. This time around, though, I’ve got some more structure in my life. Things seem less uncertain.

10610709_1905470066344701_72414200183218184_n

AKC Name suggestions welcome!

Some more exciting news: Remington (my dog, for those who aren’t aware) and I will begin training to compete in rally obedience competitions. First we have to continue to brush up on obedience skills to train for the higher level tests we are expected to know. But we have some great friends to help us prepare down in the Boro, along with a great trainer back in Atlanta that we can start with

1919647_10201326794851366_4358449320184761198_n

Ch. Holther’s Gold Mine CDX FDCH

 

 

 

 

And the most exciting news yet… I’ll be leasing a horse when I move back up here! I’m going to go play in dressage land for a while with my friend (and first roommate) Eliza on her old show horse Boo! Eliza has taken Boo successfully through Third Level dressage, so he will be a great teacher for me. I’m really excited to learn because dressage has been on my mind for a long time. I am truly excited to fill in those gaps in my flatwork education. I can read a jump very accurately and I’m pretty reliable on a distance. But as far as flatting and encouraging a horse to use its body properly, I have next to no clue how to do that. My trainer at school, Courtney, really helped me see just how much of that education I was missing. So this solitary focus on flatwork will really help. (Plus, if I really feel the need to jump, I’ve got connections to other trainers to go ride a lesson over fences, especially with Megan!)

So yeah. I’m uprooting my life. Again. I’m such a shifty creature. Hopefully one day, I’ll learn to sit still. I’m so grateful for the continued support from my parents, my trainers, my friends, and my animals as I schlep myself all over the state of Georgia. And I want to say thank you to all of y’all for sticking with me through all the craziness I subject myself (and y’all) to. I cannot wait to get back to repeated updates and tell everyone about my adventures in horse dancing (she says jokingly). Hopefully I don’t embarrass myself too much.

giphy-1

Am I doing it right?

Also, if anyone has any words of advice for starting in dressage, PLEASE let me know.

6 thoughts on “An Update on My Life

  1. How exciting! I look forward to reading your updates.
    I love dressage. My advice would be just to listen to your horse – they need to relax, relax, relax. That’s the most important. Anything else you build on top of a tense horse will just come crashing down later (ask me how I know, bwahaha).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been trying to do more yoga and exercise to keep myself more supple for dressage. Being able to relax and follow the horse’s movement is key! You are super lucky to have a great horse to teach you!

    Like

Join the Conversation

