What’s Next?

It’s been 234 days since my last post. And I’ll warn y’all now that there’s not much horse stuff here and a whole lot of feelings. Bear with me. I haven’t written much––except for cover letters––since early May.


So the biggest life update in the last 234 days is that ya girl is now hotter by one degree. That’s right, I’ve got my BA in Writing and Linguistics now (Class of 2017!) and I’m done with classroom learning until further notice. My family came to celebrate in the heat and humidity that is South Georgia. My grandparents came from California, my brother came from Denver, and my parents and the family dog came from Atlanta for a whirlwind weekend celebration.

IMG_20170506_155432

Three generations of the fam in Chippewa Square in Savannah. My brother, dad, and I did not plan to all match in plaid. Good job, team.

Oh, I guess it’s kind of exciting. I officially have a grown up job! I cannot say for whom I am working (frankly because I’m not getting paid to say so on here) but I can say that I’ll be working with some fashionable saddles… You do the math, friends. 😉 This means that the doggo and I shall be moving very soon to south Florida! Hahaha. I’m laughing because I wanted to move somewhere with seasons, preferably snow. But instead, I’ll be swimming in February again this coming winter… Le sigh. At least I’ll be just a few minutes’ drive from that little ole place, Wellington. Poor me.

P1100229 copy

“You mean we get to go to the beach ALL THE TIME, MOM?????”

Other exciting recent adventures include a fuck ton of writing… Including my first publication in a lit journal for a piece of fiction writing. Be looking for some nonfiction soon. Maybe even some poetry, if I can grab a hold of my cahonnes. We’ll see. I went to Washington, DC, twice in one month (and played in snow and made a snow child). I met Kim Addonizio and Rachel Eliza Griffiths and kind of fell in love with both of them (more ways than one with Eliza whoops did I say that out loud).  Remy acted (read: starred) in a short film for Campus MovieFest. Remy got attacked by a dog. In an unrelated incident, Remy ruptured his CCL and had surgery. He’s almost all better!

IMG_20170506_115108

After attending this university for three years, I FINALLY GOT MY PICTURE WITH THE MASCOT! This is Freedom. (And Mr. Mike.)

So if anyone wants to casually drop some names of hunter/jumper, eventing, dressage, or shit even western barns here for me, I’m not gonna complain. I’m looking near Fort Lauderdale, Boca Raton, and maybe Wellington if I can afford it on my entry level salary.

Consider this the end of my blogging hiatus, y’all.

It’s good to be home. I’ve missed this site. I’ve missed horses and talking about horses and gushing about horses and taking pictures of horses and pretty much everything to do with horses. Does this officially qualify me as an adult re-rider? Um… I think so. I definitely had a formal lesson in an uncomfortably long time. So when I get back to that, it’s gonna be ugly and it’s gonna hurt but it’ll be good to be back in the saddle.

IMG_20170516_185308-ANIMATION

My nieces, Flame (in the flymask) and Ariel

 


Update 10:56PM: Please give your love to Olivia for being my cheerleader to get this post done!

8 thoughts on “What’s Next?

  1. Oh my gosh I’m so happy for you! Congrats on graduating, too! I just graduated high school so I still have quite a way to go lol

    I can’t wait to see some more updates! I haven’t been following your blog for as long as some people here have but I’m still excited nonetheless. 🙂

    Like

Join the Conversation

